in Latvia will be additionally checked upon entry of citizens of the Russian Federation, Belarus and Cameroon

State border of Latvia

The Latvian Ministry of the Interior has prepared amendments to the rules on states whose citizens apply for visas and residence permits. It is planned that all citizens entering from Russia, Belarus and Cameroon will be subject to additional checks. The amendments are currently in the approval process. agency reports on Wednesday, August 3rd.

The Latvian State Security Service (SSS) updates the list of countries whose citizens are subject to additional checks upon entry approximately every three years. This time, the State Security Service recommends including Belarus, Cameroon and the entire Russian Federation in the list. So far, only citizens of the Russian Federation have been additionally checked – residents or natives of Chechnya, Dagestan, Ingushetia and North Ossetia.

After the change in the rules, an additional check of the citizens of these countries will be carried out – to assess a possible threat to national security or public order. At the same time, the inclusion of Russia and Belarus in the list is justified by security considerations, and Cameroon by an increase in the number of applications for long-term visas in recent years. If in 2018 four visa applications were submitted, then in 2021 there are already 216.

Earlier, the Foreign Affairs Commission of the Latvian Seimas recognized Russia as a state that supports terrorism. In addition, members of the commission called on the EU countries suspend the issuance of tourist and entry visas to Russiansas well as citizens of Belarus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button