The Foreign Ministry called building up cooperation with CSTO members a priority of Russia’s foreign policy

CSTO briefing

CSTO briefing


Consolidation of cooperation with member states The Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) is one of the main aspects for the Russian Federation in the framework of the country’s foreign policy. About it said in the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Sunday, May 15th.

Today marks 30 years since the signing of the Treaty. “The Russian Federation considers the further consolidation and building up of comprehensive cooperation with the CSTO member states as a foreign policy priority,” the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

The CSTO is a regional international organization that received legal status in 2003. It consists of six member countries: Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The document was signed on May 15, 1992 in Tashkent.

The CSTO allies are fighting international terrorism and extremism, illegal drug trafficking and weapons. They also develop a system of collective security and develop response mechanisms in crisis situations.

Back to top button